One Brilliant Black Girl: Maya Angelou

A young Maya expressing herself through dance.

“As I’d watched Momma put ruffles on the hem and cute little tucks around the waist, I knew that once I put it on I’d look like a movie star. (It was silk and that made up for the awful color.) I was going to look like one of the sweet little white girls who were everybody’s dream of what was right with the world. Hanging softly over the black Singer sewing machine, it looked like magic, and when people saw me wearing it they were going to run up to me and say, “Marguerite [sometimes it was ‘dear Marguerite’], forgive us, please, we didn’t know who you were,” and I would answer generously, “No, you couldn’t have known. Of course I forgive you.”

— Excerpt from I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou

This entry was posted in Celebrated Black Girls. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

