Stately and Just Damn Amazing

Image

Dear Black Girl,

Always remember that where you are now, whatever your present circumstances, should never give you reason to assume that it’s the same place you’ll end up.

“I was not raised with wealth or resources or any social standing to speak of, but I am an example of what is possible when girls from the very beginning of their lives are loved and nurtured by people around them. I was surrounded by extraordinary women in my life who taught me about quiet strength and dignity. Although the circumstances of our lives may seem very disengaged, I want you to know we have very much in common. For nothing in my life ever would have predicted that I would be standing here as the first African-American First Lady.” 
–Michelle Obama

And yet, there she is. Get like Michelle, girl.

-swl

This entry was posted in Celebrated Black Girls, Life and Growth, Photo Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

